Oppa Gingham Style!

While the steady popularity in both the vintage and modern sense of Gingham pales in comparison to the rocket like surge of its doppleganger name, Gingham style shirts nonetheless continue to be a popular item of choice for the modern man’s wardrobe!

Psy

Gingham fabrics were originally manufactured in the previously Dutch colonized Malaysia, and derived its name from the Malay word ‘genggang’, which translates into ‘striped’.  Gingham shirts are small checkered shirts with the warp (vertical yarns) consisting of color and the weft (horizontal yarns) consisting of white, resulting in what are usually pastel colored / white small checkered shirts.

Given its casual nature, Gingham shirts are ideal for Spring time. That being said, they can be worn equally fashionably with both a suit or a casual pair of jeans on a night out! So, spice up your wardrobe and buy some Gingham today!  Bring it!  Any specific Gingham shirt colors you like?  Please feel free to post comments.

Gingham looking fashionable with a suit

Gingham looking fashionable with a suit



Categories: Dress Shirts, Fabrics

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. In College I had a had my first Gingham shirt. I couldn’t find a tie to match. I wasn’t as in the know as I am now. I was drunk at a bar during my graduation week and a classmate of mine was dating Chris O’donnell. We were wearing the same shirt and my only comment to him was, “Dude, you found a tie to match my shirt.” Or at least I think thats what I said. I was drunk.

  2. I think blue is the most versatile.

    Btw, in the picture you posted, don’t you think the gingham pattern is too large? Makes it too casual with the formal-ish suit. I feel the look would be much better if the pattern were smaller.

    • Yes, I completely agree with you! I was trying to illustrate how ties can go with a gingham shirt, but yes you are right. A smaller pattern would definitely look better!

Trackbacks

  1. Ideas for dressing up for a Winter Wedding | suitupdressup

Leave a Reply

